Misdemeanor Charges

Dallas Criminal Defense Attorney

//Misdemeanor Charges
Misdemeanor Charges

Pending Misdemeanors?

People arrested and charged with a misdemeanor in Dallas typically think the charges are not important. Misdemeanors are commonly referred to as “just a misdemeanor” because often the punishment is relatively minor. However, misdemeanor charges can have permanent consequences. Punishment for such offenses can be even worse for repeat offenders. It is in your best interest to speak with a misdemeanor charges lawyer about your case.

If you have been arrested for a misdemeanor offense, Contact Haddad Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation with a lawyer experienced in defending against criminal charges. A skilled misdemeanor attorney can help you avoid ending up with a permanent criminal record. Any top criminal defense attorney will make sure that you fully understand all of your options as well as all of the consequences of pleading to any type of criminal offense.

Don’t Plead Guilty

Remember, pleading guilty to any criminal offense results in a conviction which can never be removed from your record. At Haddad Law Firm, we understand the effects a conviction can have on your life. That’s why our criminal defense lawyers are dedicated to protecting your rights against criminal charges.

Pleading guilty to a misdemeanor offense can result in:

  • Jail time / Fines / Court Costs
  • Community Supervision / Probation
  • Community Service
  • Court Classes / Alcohol or Drug Treatment
  • Suspension of Driver’s License
  • Loss of Housing / Benefits
  • Damage to Personal / Professional Reputation
  • Deportation / Exclusion from U.S.
  • Termination of Employment
  • Denied Access to Certain College Programs
  • Exclusion from Professional Occupations

What Are My Options?

If you have been arrested or charged with a misdemeanor, the charges do not have to result in a conviction. It may even be possible to get your case dismissed entirely.

For example, the following is a list of possible ways a misdemeanor case may be dismissed:

  • Pretrial Diversion Programs
  • Conditional Dismissal
  • Class C Reduction
  • Plea and Bar
  • Set the Case for Trial
  • An Acquittal

Misdemeanor Offense Levels

Texas Penal Code Section 12.03 classifies misdemeanors into three categories. Each offense level is based on the seriousness of the crime. Accordingly, Class C Misdemeanors are considered the least serious and Class A Misdemeanors are viewed as the most serious.

  • Class C Misdemeanor
  • Class B Misdemeanor
  • Class A Misdemeanor

If an offense is designated a misdemeanor in the Texas Penal Code but does not specify a punishment or category of the offense it is considered a Class C Misdemeanor.

  • Class C Misdemeanor – Under Section 12.23, an individual convicted of a Class C Misdemeanor can face up to a $500 fine. This is the lowest type of offense level in Texas.
  • Class B Misdemeanor – Section 12.22 states that a person found guilty of a Class B Misdemeanor can serve up to 180 days in the county jail, a fine up to $2,000 or both a fine and confinement.
  • Class A Misdemeanor – According to Section 12.21, a Class A Misdemeanor can result in punishment of up to one year in the county jail, a fine not to exceed $4,000 or both a fine and confinement.
Additionally, Texas law allows additional penalties for repeat and habitual misdemeanor offenders under Tex. Penal Code § 12.43. A repeat or habitual misdemeanor offender is anyone who has a previous misdemeanor or felony conviction. Accordingly, repeat or habitual misdemeanors can face the following punishment ranges:

  • An individual charged with a Class A misdemeanor and has a previous Class A misdemeanor or any felony conviction can serve not less than 90 days in the county jail up to one year in jail and/or a fine up to $4,000.
  • Someone currently charged with a Class B misdemeanor offense that has a previous conviction for a  Class A misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor or any felony offense can be punished by a fine up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence not less than 30 days and up to 180 days in the county jail.
  • If you are facing a Class C misdemeanor for disorderly conduct or public intoxication and have previously been convicted of that offense three or more times within 24 months the punishment can be a fine up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence up to 180 days.

What Client’s Say

Mr. Haddad is a very professional and reliable attorney. He was always quick to my texts/calls whenever I had a question regarding the case. He is very straightforward and honest and will keep you updated with important court dates. I would highly recommend Mr. Haddad.

Rating: ★★★★★
Paul W., Client
He was a court appointed attorney, but man he sure didn’t work as if he was one to me. He is genuinely a good guy inside and out that works hard for you and your case to provide the best outcome. I am more then grateful for him and his services! Two thumbs all the way up!

Rating: ★★★★★
Roberto L., Client
Mr. Haddad Law Firm was sufficient and prompt in handling our case along with answering any concerns we had. We would definitely work with this team again.

Rating: ★★★★★
Perry W., Client

Why Choose Our Firm

At Haddad Law Firm, we understand that facing criminal charges can be stressful and overwhelming. More importantly, we recognize that every case is unique and affects different people in different ways. That’s why we take our job of defending clients against criminal charges very seriously. After all, if your case isn’t the same as everyone elses, why should your lawyer be?

  • We provide honest, effective legal representation at affordable prices.
  • Our attorney and staff are experienced in defending criminal offenses.
  • Let us worry about your case, so you don’t have to!
  • Communicate with your lawyer directly about your circumstances.
  • We keep our clients fully informed about their case progress and updates.
  • If we can’t help you, we will do our best to help you find someone who can.